Chakras are a key factor in all aspects of Reiki and you should have a basic understanding of what they are.

There are 7 major Chakras. They are energy portals where energy flows. When a Chakra becomes blocked an imbalance occurs. If it is not cleared then illness and disease can manifest itself.

First Chakra : Root Chakra located at the base of the spine. It is linked to survival and our ability to ground ourselves in the physical world.

Second Chakra : Sacral Chakra located just beneath the navel. It is related to our sexual and reproductive capacity.

Third Chakra : Solar Plexus located behind the solar plexus which gives us our personal power in the world.

Fourth Chakra : Heart Chakra located at the Heart and gives us the ability to express love.

Fifth Chakra : Throat Chakra located at neck is linked to creativity and communication.

Sixth Chakra : Third Eye Chakra located between the eyebrows. This is the center of intuition and awareness.

Seventh Chakra : Crown Chakra located at the top of the head. This is relates to ones personal and spiritual connection to the universe.